Richard Asher's Posh Sports Precinct
Richard Asher's Posh Sports Precinct Podcast
But what did the FANS think?
0:00
-15:45

But what did the FANS think?

Chatting to spectators at the London Invitational (audio package)

One thing we ‘print’ media are mostly dreadful at is getting in touch with the paying public out there beyond the safe confines of the media centre. I may be no exception, but since I didn’t have a full pass for the London Invitational on Thursday, I had no option to produce what content I could from out on the course.

Maybe that was a blessing. Because for all the column inches LIV Golf had generated in the press, I was genuinely curious to know if the galleries around Centurion had actually worked themselves up into the same state of bluster as those inside the game. And, of course, how they had found the show! Their opinion on these things might ultimately still be more decisive than what any of us might think, after all.


Granted, there may have been thousands of anti-LIV folk who stayed away from Centurion on principle. (Please leave a comment if that’s you — let’s talk!) But chatting to the fans made it clear that the people who did show up did so for a wide variety of reasons — and that some of them hadn’t been following the media storm at all.

This is a random selection of people I encountered on the course, played back in the same order the clips were recorded. Draw your own conclusions!

If you haven’t already read my own take on proceedings at the London Invitational, check this and this.

I plan to keep this content 100% free for the foreseeable future. But writing is what I do for a living. If you’d like to support my work and help me stick to that plan, you can buy me a virtual coffee! No obligation, much appreciation!

Buy me a coffee

Think I can string a sentence together? Then get stuck into one of my books! (Yes, they’re written under a different name…)

Browse books

0 Comments
Richard Asher's Posh Sports Precinct
Richard Asher's Posh Sports Precinct Podcast
A refined blend of test cricket, rugby, golf and motorsport. Ideal for Commonwealth types.